Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury Selects Winners for 2016 Edition
News Post Image
29 October 2015 Share article Awards Ceremony Set for January 18 in Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi-UAE: 29 October 2015 – The prestigious Jury of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, the UAE’s international awards for energy and sustainability pioneers, today selected eight winners across four categories for its 2016 awards cycle. The winners will be announced and honoured at a special ceremony following the inauguration of Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week (ADSW) on January 18, 2016.

In addition to selecting three winners from 10 finalists for the Large Corporation, Small Medium Enterprise and Non-profit Organisation (NPO) categories, the Jury also picked out five winners from among 14 project proposals in the Global High Schools category, one each from Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania regions. The Jury will, through further deliberations in the next few weeks, decide who will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Addressing media following the completion of the evaluation process, His Excellency Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson, President of the Republic of Iceland and Chair of the Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury, said, “This has been another outstanding year for the Zayed Future Energy Prize. The record number of submissions is a testament to the leadership shown by the UAE in this field, gaining renown across the globe for rewarding and inspiring innovators in sustainability and clean energy technology. The winners we have finalised will lead by example as shining lights that offer a path towards a more sustainable future.”

His Excellency Dr Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber, UAE Minister of State and Director General of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, said, “We are now in the eighth cycle of the Prize and each year its impact continues to grow. Today, the Prize impacts over 150 million people across the globe, through improved access to water, energy and food. We are proud of what the Zayed Future Energy Prize has come to represent for the UAE in its ability to continue empowering communities around the world.

“At this crucial time in the global dialogue on climate change and energy access, we understand the true impact of Sheikh Zayed’s legacy in pioneering a sustainable future for all humanity. His vision and passion for sustainability has driven the UAE leadership to place the issue at the very core of its future plans for the nation and also in its multilateral relations across the globe,” continued Dr Al Jaber.

The Jury meeting marks the close of a four-stage evaluation process in a record year for the Prize. Entries for the upcoming edition of the prize reached 1,437, outpacing the previous year by more than 300 and originating from 97 countries around the world.

The Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury includes heads of state, leading energy experts and world-renowned personalities committed to the global effort of accelerating the adoption of renewable energy and advocating sustainable development.

For the 2016 awards cycle, the prize Jury has been enriched with three new jurors: His Excellency Felipe Calderón, former President of Mexico; Her Excellency Dr Amal Al Qubaisi, First Deputy Speaker of the Federal National Council, Member of the Executive Council – Abu Dhabi and Director General of the Abu Dhabi Education Council; Dr Mohamed A. El-Erian, Chief Economic Advisor at Allianz SE and Chair of President Obama’s Global Development Council.

Chaired by President Grímsson and Vice-Chaired by Dr Han Seung-Soo, former Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea, the Jury also includes: Adnan Z. Amin, Director General of the International Renewable Energy Agency; Kathy Calvin, President and CEO of the UN Foundation; His Excellency Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh, Chairman of Global Marketplace, Abu Dhabi; Ratan Tata GBE, Chairman Emeritus of Tata Sons; and Sir Richard Branson, Founder of Virgin Group.