Press Release

Jury Selects Winners of Zayed Future Energy Prize 2016

23 October 2016

Awards ceremony set for 16 January 2017

The Jury of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, the UAE’s international awards for renewable energy and sustainability, has selected nine winners across its five categories today. The winners will be announced at the Prize awards ceremony on 16 January 2017as part of Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week (ADSW).

The Prize categories include Large Corporation, Small and Medium Enterprise (SME), Non-Profit Organisation (NPO) and Global High Schools, as well as a Lifetime Achievement Award. The Global High Schools category awards one school from each of the Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania regions.

Chair of the Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury and Former President of the Republic of Iceland, Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson said, “For nine years, the Zayed Future Energy Prize has been an influential platform for the much-needed action to resolve sustainability challenges facing our planet. Through the Zayed Future Energy Prize, the UAE has issued a call to action on a global scale. Today, we see that call has been answered by true industry pioneers, innovators and young people that are forging a path to sustainable prosperity.

His Excellency Dr Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber, UAE Minister of State and Director General of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, said, “Our wise leadership established the Zayed Future Energy Prize to be a springboard for partnerships and innovations that will help solve global energy and sustainability challenges. Today, this mission has positively impacted the lives of more than 200 million people worldwide through an international community of prize-winners.”

He added: “The Zayed Future Energy Prize amplifies the achievements of its winners and acts as a platform for collaborative action for lasting change. The Jury meeting is the precursor to this and through the decisions taken here, the Jury members will select a new group of winners who will extend this clean energy transformation.”

The winners were selected from among 30 finalists. In the SME category, a silicon wafer manufacturer and two innovative energy storage technology businesses are vying for the award. Whilst in the NPO category, the finalists are an organisation working to alleviate energy poverty and two organisations that empower women living in developing nations by training them in sustainable practices.

The Jury meeting marks the end of a four-stage evaluation process in what was another record year for the Prize. Entries to the 9th edition of the prize reached 1,678 from more than 100 countries worldwide.

The Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury includes former heads of state, leading energy experts and world-renowned personalities committed to the global effort of accelerating the adoption of renewable energy and advocating for sustainable development.

Chaired by Former President Grímsson and Vice-Chaired by Dr. Han Seung-Soo, former Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea, the Jury also includes: His Excellency Felipe Calderón, former President of Mexico; Her Excellency Dr. Amal Al Qubaisi, President of the Federal National Council; Adnan Z. Amin, Director General of the International Renewable Energy Agency; Kathy Calvin, President and CEO of the UN Foundation; His Excellency Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh, Chairman of Global Marketplace, Abu Dhabi; Ratan Tata GBE, Chairman of Tata Trusts; and Sir Richard Branson, Founder of Virgin Group.