Selection Committee

Dr Behjat Al Yousuf

Interim Provost
Masdar Institute of Science & Technology
Chair, Selection Committee

Dr. Behjat AlYousuf’s career spans over 24 years of experience in higher education in the UAE. She is currently Interim Provost of Masdar Institute and also chairs the selection committee of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, which works to recognize sustainable energy innovators.


Marie-Jose Nadeau

bowman-roberta Chair
World Energy Council (London, United Kingdom)
Vice Chair, Selection Committee

Ms. Nadeau is Chair of the World Energy Council since 2012. Based in London UK, this international organisation represents the entire energy spectrum and brings together more than 3000 member organisations located in close to 100 national committees. She is a regular speaker in international energy conferences.


Dr. Saif Sultan Al Nasseri

Dr.Saif Chief Executive Officer
Abu Dhabi Gas Industries Ltd. (GASCO)

Currently, Dr. Saif Sultan Al Nasseri serves GASCO as Chief Executive Officer, where he is responsible for leading and directing the UAE’s major supplier of gas and gas related products. An ADNOC Operating Company, GASCO is a vital enabler of industrial and economic progress and literally keeps the wheels of the Abu Dhabi economy going. While GASCO has a long history of being a very reliable and successful operator, Dr. Saif Al Nasseri focuses on driving profitability, efficiency and performance, as well as developing a world class talent pool.


Dr. Ibrahim M. Babelli

Acting Deputy Minister for Sectoral Development
Ministry of Economy and Planning
Saudi Arabia

Ibrahim is supporting the development of the new economic vision of Saudi Arabia in his capacity as the Acting Deputy Minister for Sectoral Development at the Ministry of Economy and Planning. He oversees integrated planning of GDP contributing (e.g. manufacturing) and enabling (e.g. logistics) sectors of the economy, with the remit of disentangling sectoral development obstacles and challenges.


Dr. Steven Griffiths

Steve_Griffiths Vice President for Research, Associate Provost
Professor of Practice, Masdar Institute

Dr. Steven Griffiths is Vice President for Research, Associate Provost and Professor of Practice at the Masdar Institute of Science and Technology.


Jonathon Porritt

Jonathan_PoritFounder Director
Forum for the Future

Jonathon Porritt, Co-Founder of Forum for the Future, is an eminent writer, broadcaster and commentator on sustainable development.


David Sandalow

Rashed Al DhaheriInaugural Fellow
Columbia University

David Sandalow is the Inaugural Fellow at Columbia University’s Center on Global Energy Policy. Prior to joining Columbia, Mr. Sandalow served in senior positions at the U.S. Department of Energy, including acting Under Secretary of Energy and Assistant Secretary for Policy & International Affairs.


Yukari Niwa Yamashita

roger-ballentineBoard Member
The Institute of Energy Economics, Japan (IEEJ)

As a Board Member for the Institute and Director in Charge of the Energy Data and Modelling Center, she is responsible for quantitative and qualitative analyses on energy policy issues.


Linda Mabhena-Olagunju

Linda Olagunju Founder and Managing Director
DLO Energy Resources

Linda Mabhena-Olagunju is the founder and Managing Director of DLO Energy Resources (Pty) Ltd, an energy investment and advisory company with assets in the renewable energy and power sector in South Africa. The company is currently building one of Africa’s largest wind farms these projects were also awarded “Excellent Projects in 2014” by the South African Wind Energy Association in November 2014.She has extensive experience in the power sector both domestically and internationally, having advised governments, developers and lenders and is an admitted attorney of the High Court of South Africa.


Dr. Wandee Khunchornyakong Juljarern

Dr Wandee Kunchornyakong Chairperson & CEO
SPCG Public Company Limited (SPCG)

Dr. Wandee Khunchornyakong Juljarern is the pioneer of the solar farm & solar roof developer in Thailand and ASEAN since 2010.


Dr. Rabia Ferroukhi

Dr-Rabia-Ferroukhi Head of Policy and Deputy Director, Knowledge, Policy and Finance
International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)

Dr. Rabia Ferroukhi joined IRENA in 2011 where she is currently the Deputy Director of the Knowledge, Policy and Finance division.